Its really hard to deal with things alone! Also I am addicted to stimulants such as caffeine, and performance enhancing drugs including steroids (I am an amateur athlete), when I am on these drugs I feel relieved and powerful, but that makes things worse because I am to narcissistic that I feel that anything can ruin my feelings of greatness and performance. I dont deserve to be happy!!! As Sunny and Tina mentioned, other strategies might involve getting a better understanding of your fears and then potentially doing some imaginal exposure to address these what-ifs. If I see a police car, I make sure to drive just in front of them for as far as possible, this makes my drive easy because I know they would stop me if I had to hit someone with my car. She phoned me yesterday and said she'd had a quote from a local garage, for 180 to sort out the deep scratch. By knocking on the door you are giving in to the thought and therefore it will stay around longer. I do try to convince myself i havent but it usually occurs if my anxiety and stress levels are raised. Hey, it is the first time I have the courage to google about my problem. I drove my car and was feeling really ill and not concertrating and i also have very bad hearing, this was about 2.30 am in the morning and now really worried i have hit someone and not heard it and will get in trouble for it. Once you learn to understand these aspects of the disorder and learn how OCD works in your case, then your therapist will have you start doing exposures. It could be a jogger, a pedestrian, someone on a bike, or even an animal. What if you hit a squirrel with your car? I know its hard and not easily done but try not to worry. For the last few years I forced myself to keep driving and I think that now I feel better with my problems but when it rains or driving at late evening still stress me a lot. This is the second time it has happened and I think it streamed from the fact that a year ago there was an actual hit & run in