Although Lamarr had no formal training and was primarily self-taught, she tinkered in her spare time on various hobbies and ideas, which included a traffic stoplight and a tablet that would dissolve in water to create a carbonated drink. [36], Lamarr wanted to join the National Inventors Council, but was reportedly told by NIC member Charles F. Kettering and others that she could better help the war effort by using her celebrity status to sell war bonds. Los Angeles Times (1923-Current File) [Los Angeles, Calif] Feb 4, 1966: 3. [13] She also began to associate invention with her father, who would take her out on walks, explaining how technology functioned. Girl, Sex, Achievement. [26] She writes about her marriage: I knew very soon that I could never be an actress while I was his wife. More popular were two pictures she made at Paramount, a Western with Ray Milland, Copper Canyon (1950), and a Bob Hope spy spoof, My Favorite Spy (1951). According to Hoover's biographer Richard Hack, Hoover pursued a romantic relationship with Lamour, and the two spent a night together at a Washington, D.C. hotel. [37][38] She was interred in the Forest Lawn, Hollywood Hills Cemetery in Los Angeles. Dorothy Lamour was a famous Hollywood actress known as "the bond bombshell" because of her volunteer work selling U.S. war bonds during World War II (1939 - 45). Born: December 10, 1914 in New Orleans, Louisiana Died: September 22, 1996 in Los Angeles, California Born: December 10, 1914. Dorothy Lamour, original name Mary Leta Dorothy Slaton, (born December 10, 1914, New Orleans, Louisiana, U.S.died September 22, 1996, Los Angeles, California, U.S.), American actor who was best remembered by filmgoers as the sarong -clad object of Bob Hope 's and Bing Crosby 's attention in a series of "Road" pictures. Dorothy Lamour (born Mary Leta Dorothy Slaton; December 10, 1914 - September 22, 1996) was an American actress and singer. However, the cinematographer of the film claimed that she was awar